Mentoring Meeting in Progress


The Division recognizes that a robust culture of scholarly mentorship is crucial to the long-term success of its graduate students. Effective mentorship is not simply restricted to academic concerns but demonstrates holistic concern for the professional and personal development of new scholars. The Division is especially attentive to the need for senior scholars to model the best practices of their disciplines and help new scholars navigate unique cultures around research and departmental engagement. To this end, the Division has undertaken a variety of initiatives designed to tackle mentorship from many angles, including individual, group, and project-based models. Each department implements its own mentorship plan with the guidance and support of the Dean of Students Office.

2019-2020 Divisional Peer Mentors


Sharon Seegers
6th year Graduate Student


Stephanie Ternello
3rd year Graduate Student