John U. Nef Committee Social Thought

Social Sciences faculty inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

On Saturday, October 7, 2017, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences inducted 228 national and international scholars, artists, philanthropists, and business leaders as its 237th class. Of these, five scholars were from the University of Chicago, including two from the Division of the Social SciencesJohnathan Lear, John U.

Call for Papers: Crossing Interdisciplinary Boundaries Working Group

The newly formed Crossing Disciplinary Boundaries Working Group will host its inaugural event on September 22, 2017 from 9am-5pm in Saieh Hall for Economics rm. 146. The day-long event will include research presentations by UChicago doctoral students and discussion by faculty members from departments other than the students' home unit. Built into the day will also be a round table discussion on ways to cultivate cross-department collaboration.

Social Sciences faculty members honored with named, distinguished service professorships

Three social scientists have received distinguished service professorships in recognition of their scholarly contributions and dedication to the University research and teaching mission. Additionally, two social scientists have been appointed to named professorships in the College and the Division, and another as the first to hold the Gary S. Becker chair, named in honor of Nobel Laureate Gary S. Becker, AM'53, PhD'55 (1930-2014).