Dean, Historian David Nirenberg and Economist Ali Hortaçsu elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced the election of 213 new members on April 20, 2016. They include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, as well as civic, business, and philanthropic leaders. Among those elected into this newest class of distinguished members are five University of Chicago faculty members: David Nirenberg, Ali Hortaçsu, Dr. Joshua A. Frieman, Theaster Gates Jr., and Michael Sells. Two of the UChicago elects are Social Scietists.

$35 million gift from alumni Joe and Rika Mansueto to establish Institute for Urban Innovation

The Division of the Social Sciences is the birthplace of the Chicago School of Urban Sociology, among other longstanding traditions of complex interdisciplinary research focused on cities and their populations. Division faculty will play a critical, collaborative role in the new Mansueto Institute for Urban Innovation.

UChicago News Office:

$35 million gift will support creation of institute to advance urban scholarship and education