Department of History

History’s Mauricio Tenorio receives a Humboldt Research Award

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has awarded history professor Mauricio Tenorio its prestigious Research Award.

Mauricio Tenorio is the Samuel N. Harper Professor of History, Romance Languages and Literatures, and the College. He is affiliated faculty with UChicago’s Center for Latin American Studies and Katz Center for Mexican Studies.


Social Sciences faculty inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

On Saturday, October 7, 2017, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences inducted 228 national and international scholars, artists, philanthropists, and business leaders as its 237th class. Of these, five scholars were from the University of Chicago, including two from the Division of the Social SciencesJohnathan Lear, John U.

Historian Alain Bresson awarded AHA James Henry Breasted Prize

Professor Alain Bresson has been awarded the American Historical Association’s James Henry Breasted Prize for his book, The Making of the Ancient Greek Economy: Institutions, Markets, and Growth in the City-States (2016, Princeton University Press). He will receive the prize on January 4 in a ceremony at the Association’s annual meeting in Washington, DC.