Association for Psychological Science recognizes Professors Berman and Cacioppo

Announcement Type: 

The Association for Psychological Science (APS) has awarded its Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions to environmental neuroscientist Marc Berman.


Conferred annually to celebrate “the most creative and promising investigators who embody the future of psychological science,” the Spence Award recognizes research contributions that are transformative in various ways — such as the establishment of new approaches or paradigms within a field of psychology, or the development or advancement of research that cuts across fields of psychological science.


Berman is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology and is involved in the Cognition, Social and Integrative Neuroscience programs. His research centers on understanding the relationship between individual psychological and neural processing, and environmental factors. Berman’s Environmental Neuroscience Lab uses brain imaging, behavioral experimentation, computational neuroscience and statistical models to quantify the person, the environment and their interactions.


The Association previously announced that it will present its prestigious 2018 William James Fellow Award to John Cacioppo, the Tiffany & Margaret Blake Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Psychology. The William James Fellow Award honors APS members for their lifetime of significant intellectual contributions to the basic science of psychology. Cacioppo is renowned as a pioneer of the field of social neuroscience. 


Both awards will be presented at the May 2018 APS Convention in San Francisco, California.

Related Department(s):